How much does it cost for the State of Nevada to belong to the Nurse Licensure Compact? Will

joining the NLC increase license fees for Nevada nurses?

a.

Each NLC State pays an annual fee of $6,000 to the NLC Commission. The state pays no
other fees.

While the Nevada Board of Nursing could elect to charge a fee to Nevada nurses for
obtaining a multistate license to offset any loss of revenue, the NLC itself does not
impose any fees on individual nurses to obtain a multistate license.

Do compact nurses have to register with the state before they begin working in Nevada? If Nevada

joins the NLC, does that result in an inability to monitor where nurses are employed?

a.

Currently, state licensing boards do not have residency requirements for their licensees.
Thus, nurses from across the country can be licensed in Nevada through initial licensure
or licensure via endorsement.

Additionally, care can be provided to patients via nurses from other states, who possess
an Nevada license, via telehealth. As licensure in Nevada exists currently, the Board of
Nursing does not know when a nurse is practicing in the state, only whether they have
the ability to. Similarly, when the NLC is implemented in Nevada, the board will know
which licensees have the privilege to practice in Nevada, but not whether they are
actively practicing.

3. Does the Board of Nursing lose control over nurses in Nevada if the state joins the compact?

a.

No, if Nevada became an NLC party state, for a nurse currently licensed in Nevada to
obtain a multistate license, they would have to first meet the requirements to hold a
single state license in Nevada. Once these requirements are met a nurse would then be
eligible to apply for a multistate license. With the NLC, Nevada can ensure that
multistate licensees practicing in the state have all 1) met their home state
qualifications for licensure and 2) met all 11 uniform licensure requirements required to
obtain a multistate license.

For multistate licensees practicing in Nevada, whether in-person, electronically, or
telephonically, the Nevada Board of Nursing maintains authority over nursing practice in
the state.

4. Will the NLC result in a loss of state sovereignty?

a.

No, the NLC will not result in a loss of state sovereignty. Compacts enable states to join
together to solve issues of multistate concern. The NLC specifically facilitates the sharing
of information in areas of nurse regulation, investigation, and adverse action. This idea
of shared sovereignty for specific policy is not new to Nevada. Nevada is currently a
member of 29 interstate compacts.

In actuality, the NLC assists Nevada in retaining their sovereignty over nurse licensure
and practice issues within the state. The NLC follows the mutual recognition model,
allowing a nurse to hold one license within their primary state of residence with the
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privilege to practice in every NLC participating state. Under this model, Nevada, and the
Board of Nursing more specifically, retains control over their licensees’ privilege to
practice with a multistate license and Nevada’s laws govern nursing practice treating
patients in the state.

5. Isthe Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) a threat to public health and safety?

a.

The NLC was created by state boards of nursing, whose mission it is to protect the
public. As a regulatory policy, that has been operational for over 20 years, patients have
received care from nurses who hold multistate licenses for decades.

No, the NLC is not a threat to public health and safety. The NLC facilitates states’
responsibility to protect the health and safety of the public. Each party state of the NLC
is required to participate in a coordinated licensure information system. This system
facilitates the sharing of information on nurse licensure and requires party states to
promptly report any adverse action, investigative information, and denials of
application. As a result, Boards of Nursing have a pathway to easily communicate with
one another and ensure nurses practicing across the country are safe and meet a high
standard.

Additionally, the NLC requires nurses to meet 11 uniform licensure requirements to
obtain a multistate privilege to practice. Nurses with a multistate license cannot be
under active discipline and must complete a federal criminal background check as a
condition of licensure. This ensures that all nurses practicing under a multistate license
are safe and provide high-quality care to the public.

6. The Nurse Licensure Compact places patients at risk because it hobbles the Nevada Board of
Nursing's ability to track previous criminal offenses and disciplinary measures for nurses entering our

state. Is this true?

a.

In order to obtain and maintain a multistate license, a nurse must have no active
discipline, no felony record, no misdemeanor related to the practice of nursing, and
must maintain those statuses throughout the time they hold a multistate license.

The NLC also streamlines a party state’s ability to track disciplinary measures and
criminal offenses by requiring and facilitating the sharing of investigatory data,
significant adverse actions, and licensure data through the coordinated licensure
information system. As a member of the NLC, Nevada would further contribute to the
mandate of public protection, ensuring that nurses licensed in Nevada, practicing across
the country, meet the highest standards of care.

7. Are the Uniform licensure requirements under the National Council of State Boards of Nursing less

stringent than the current Nevada state licensing requirements?

a.

No; Nevada’s state licensing requirements mirror the uniform licensing requirements.



8. What are the differences in requirements between a compact license and an Nevada

license?

a. Below are requirements for an application for licensure compared to the requirements

of licensure under the NLC. For licensure renewal, an Nevada nurse must receive 30

hours of continuing education which includes 2 hours of continuing education in cultural

competency; must also complete a one-time 4 hour bioterrorism course.

Nevada Licensure Requirements

NLC Uniform Licensure Requirements
Meets the requirements for licensure in the
nurse’s primary state of residence.

Has graduated from an accredited education
program or has graduated from international
program with appropriate verification; and has
been awarded a degree or diploma in Nursing

Has graduated from a board-approved education
program or has graduated from an international
program (approved by the authorizing accrediting
body in the applicable country and verified by an
independent credentials review agency)

Has passed a Nevada approved English
proficiency exam (applies to graduates of an
international program of a country where the
primary language is not English)

Has passed an English proficiency examination
(applies to graduates of an international program
not taught in English or if English is not the
individual’s native language)

Has passed an NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN or
predecessor exam

Has passed an NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN
examination or predecessor exam

An applicant with an encumbered license is
assessed by application eligibility specialist

Is eligible for, or holds an active, unencumbered
license (without active discipline)

Has submitted to state and federal fingerprint-
based criminal background checks

Has submitted to state and federal fingerprint-
based criminal background checks

An applicant with a felony conviction is assessed
by the application eligibility specialist

Has not been convicted or found guilty, or has
entered into an agreed disposition, of a felony
offense under applicable state or federal criminal
law

An applicant with a misdemeanor conviction is
assessed by the application eligibility specialist

Has no misdemeanor convictions related to the
practice of nursing (determined on a case-by-
case basis)

An applicant participating in an alternative to
discipline program will be assessed by the
application eligibility specialist

Is not currently a participant of an alternative
program

A licensee is required to self-disclose current
participation in an alternative program

A licensee is required to self-disclose current
participation in an alternative program

Has a valid U.S. social security number or
individual taxpayer ID number

Has a valid U.S. social security number

9. Nurse Licensure compacting is bad for patient safety. Joining the compact would reduce that

oversight and leave Nevadans vulnerable to substandard care.

a. Under the NLC, the Nevada Board of Nursing maintains authority over the licensure and

enforcement of nursing practice across the state. They have the authority to issue
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licenses (single-state and multistate), regulate the practice of nursing, and enforce the
nurse practice act—JUST as they do today.

b. The NLC promotes patient safety by facilitating the communication of nursing regulatory
bodies across the country on matters related to nurse licensure, investigation, and
adverse action. Nurses practicing under a multistate license must be free of any active
discipline and complete a federal criminal background check.

c. The NLCincreases Nevadans access to care and enables the Board of Nursing to have
regulatory authority over nurses practicing in the state today who may not hold a
license in Nevada.

10. If the State of Nevada joins the Nurse Licensure Compact, it will no longer have the ability to bar
nurses from coming to Nevada and caring for patients.

a. Under the NLC, Nevada, as a party state, would have the authority to take immediate
action against a nurse’s privilege practice in Nevada should an incident occur. Nevada
would then be required to report this incident through the coordinated licensure
information system so that the licensee’s primary state of residence could investigate
and determine if the incident requires further action to be taken against that nurse’s
license in their primary state of residence.

11. This bill will not address the staffing challenges. Rather than reducing oversight and relinquishing
control over our high standards, the Legislature should consider ways to encourage more Nevadans
to become nurses, by expanding educational opportunities here in the state.

a. The NLCis one tool in the toolbox to address nursing workforce shortages. Under the
NLC, Nevada would be able to address the immediate need for nurses by enabling
nurses from other states to easily cross state lines to provide care. The NLC increases
access to care for Nevada residents enabling them to seek nursing care via telehealth.

b. Intimes of crisis, the NLC empowers nurses to immediately cross state lines and assist.
This removes the burden on the healthcare system left waiting for the Governor to issue
piecemeal Executive Orders to implement temporary licensure flexibilities.

c. The NLCis also a benefit to nurses within the Nevada. The NLC is an incentive for nurses
and nursing students to stay in Nevada, as the NLC supports the longevity of their career
and enables them to easily provide care via telehealth or educate nurses across the
country using their Nevada nursing license. Nevadan nurses can join the modern
healthcare workforce, by removing barriers to mobility by obtaining a multistate license
and practicing in-person or electronically across state lines.

12. What if states recognize difference crimes or charges as barrier offenses to licensure? How does the
Compact handle this?
a. A condition of obtaining a multistate licensure is that nurses must complete a state and
federal criminal background check and do not have a felony on their record. The nurse
must also maintain their felony-free status in order to maintain their multistate license.



Should a nurse be convicted of a felony that would trigger action by the Nevada Board
of Nursing, they can immediately revoke the nurse’s privilege to practice in the state.





